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DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
 

BUREAU OF FIRE SERVICES 
 

STORAGE TANK DIVISION 
 

VEHICULAR GASEOUS FUEL SYSTEMS 
 
(By authority conferred on the department of licensing and regulatory affairs by section 3c of 

1941 PA 207, MCL 29.3c.) 
 
 

PART 1.  GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
 
R 29.4701  Applicability. 
  Rule 701.  These rules apply to the design and installation of gaseous engine fuel systems 

on vehicles and associated fuel-dispensing systems.  Compliance with these rules does not 
excuse compliance with other applicable state and federal statutes and rules and regulations 
promulgated in addition to these rules. 

 
  History: 2014 AACS. 
 
 
R 29.4702  Vehicular gaseous fuel systems code; adoption by reference. 
  Rule 702.  The provisions of the national fire protection association (nfpa) pamphlet 

number 52, 2013 edition, entitled “Vehicular Gaseous Fuel Systems Code,” are adopted by 
reference as part of these rules.  Copies of the adopted nfpa 52 are available for inspection and 
distribution either at the office of the Bureau of Fire Services, Storage Tank Division, 
3101 Technology Boulevard, Lansing, Michigan 48910, or from the National Fire Protection 
Association (NFPA), 1 Batterymarch Park, P.O. Box 9101,  Quincy, Massachusetts, 02169-7471.  
The cost of nfpa 52, as of the time of adoption of these rules, is $46.50 per copy plus a $7.95 
handling charge, per copy; or at the office of the Bureau of Fire Services, P.O. Box 30241, 
Lansing, Michigan 48909-7741, for a cost, at the time of the adoption of these rules, of $54.45, 
per copy, plus $20.00 handling, plus shipping. 

 
  History: 2014 AACS. 
 
 

PART 2.  AMENDMENTS TO VEHICULAR GASEOUS FUEL SYSTEMS CODE 
 
 
R 29.4751  Equivalency. 
  Rule 751.  Sections 1.4.1.1.1 and 1.4.1.1.2 are added to the vehicular gaseous fuel systems 

code as follows:   
  1.4.1.1.1 An owner or operator may make an application for a variance to the rules by 

applying to the department with a satisfactory explanation as to why compliance is not possible. 
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The department may approve a variance upon finding that the variance is based on the best 
interests of public health, safety, welfare, and property and the environment. 

  1.4.1.1.2 A person aggrieved by a final decision of the department on a request for variance 
may appeal to the circuit court within 21 days of the decision. 

 
  History: 2014 AACS. 
 
 
R 29.4752  Prohibitions. 
  Rule 752.  Sections 1.8, 1.8.1, 1.8.2, 1.8.3, and 1.8.4 are added to the vehicular gaseous fuel 

systems code as follows: 
  1.8  Prohibitions. 
  1.8.1 Upon notification by the department a person shall not deliver any regulated substance 

into a storage system under any circumstances that are prohibited by these rules or when a tank is 
not in compliance with these rules. The notification may include verbal or written 
communication or an affixed written notification on the storage system. 

  1.8.2 A person shall not tamper with, remove, or disregard written notification affixed to the 
storage system. 

  1.8.3 Any storage system or practice that is not in compliance with these rules shall be 
considered to be in violation of these rules. 

  1.8.4 An owner or operator shall not continue to use a storage system that is causing a 
release and shall expeditiously empty the system or the component that is causing the release 
until the system is repaired or replaced, pursuant to these rules.  

 
  History: 2014 AACS. 
 
 
R 29.4753  Permits. 
  Rule 753.  Sections 1.9, 1.9.1, 1.9.2, 1.9.3, 1.9.4, 1.9.5, 1.9.6, and 1.9.7 are added to the 

vehicular gaseous fuel systems code as follows: 
  1.9  Permits. 
  1.9.1 An application for plan review shall be submitted to the department not less than 

30 days before the installation of a storage system by the owner or owner’s designee on behalf of 
the owner.   

  1.9.2 The installation application shall include a plot map that shows all of the following 
information: 

  (a)  The locations of buildings, public roadways, railroad mainlines, and power lines. 
  (b)  Storm sewers, sanitary sewers, manholes, and catch basins. 
  (c)  The proposed locations of tanks and buildings. 
  (d)  The location of property lines. 
  (e)  The location of existing tanks, aboveground and underground, within 50 feet 

(15 meters) of the installation. 
  (f)  The material of construction, the dimension, and the capacity of each tank. 
  (g)  The class of liquid stored. 
  (h)  The type of venting and pressure relief. 
  (i)  The method of spill control provided. 
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  1.9.3 The department shall issue a plan review report within 30 days of the receipt.  If the 
report is not issued within 30 days, the installation may be constructed according to the 
submitted plans and comply with these rules. 

  1.9.4 Upon completion of the installation, the owner or designee shall notify the department 
not fewer than 7 calendar days before the installation is placed in service.  The department shall 
inspect the installation following the receipt of notification and shall certify the installation if the 
requirements of these rules have been met.  If the inspection is not made within 7 calendar days 
of receipt of notification, the installation may be placed in service and a notarized affidavit shall 
be submitted to the department attesting to the fact that the installation complies with the plans 
submitted and applicable rules. 

  1.9.5 Upon request, all plans and specifications that are submitted to the department for 
review shall be returned after the department has certified the installation or within 30 working 
days after notification to the authority having jurisdiction of the completion of the installation.  
Plans and specifications may be marked “confidential – do not copy” when they are submitted. 

  1.9.6 If construction of the storage system is not commenced within 1 year after date of 
approval, an installation application shall be resubmitted pursuant to this section.  Fees required 
under the act shall be submitted with the resubmitted application. 

  1.9.7 Closure of aboveground storage tanks.  Tanks that have not been used for more than 
12 months shall be closed. To permanently close an aboveground storage tank that is no longer 
needed to store regulated substance, the owner or operator shall notify the department, not less 
than 30 days before the intended closure, on form BFS 3858 provided by the department. To 
permanently close an aboveground storage tank, the owner or operator shall empty the tank of all 
liquid and sludge, render it vapor-free, and safeguard it against trespassing. Piping that is 
permanently removed from service shall be emptied of all liquids and sludge, be purged and 
capped, or be removed from the ground. 

 
  History: 2014 AACS. 
 
 
R 29.4754  Installation application fees and annual certification fees. 
  Rule 754.  Sections 1.10, 1.10.1, and 1.10.2 are added to the vehicular gaseous fuel systems 

code as follows: 
  1.10. Installation application fees and annual certification fees. 
  1.10.1. Only an owner of a CNG-LNG dispensing station for which an installation 

application is required to be submitted under section 1.9 of these rules shall be required to pay 
fees as specified in section 5 of 1941 PA 207, MCL 29.5. 

  1.10.2. For the purpose of assessing fees, each 18,500 scf storage capacity calculated at 
standard temperature and maximum allowable working pressure of CNG vessel or increment 
thereof shall be considered a tank, as used in section 5 of 1941 PA 207, of the Public Acts of 
1941, as amended, being section 29.5 of the Michigan Compiled Laws. 

 
  History: 2014 AACS. 
 
 
R 29.4755  Definitions. 
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  Rule 755.  NFPA official definitions. Sections 3.2.1, and 3.2.2 of the vehicular gaseous fuel 
systems code are adopted with the following changes and section 3.2.2.1 is added to the 
vehicular gaseous fuel systems code as follows: 

  3.2.1 “Approved” means acceptable to the department. 
  3.2.2 “Authority having jurisdiction (AHJ)” means the department of licensing and 

regulatory affairs. 
  3.2.2.1 “Department” means department of licensing and regulatory affairs. 
 
  History: 2014 AACS. 


